Double Chocolate Buttermilk Cookies Recipe

Buttermilk is the gift that keeps on giving.
I have fallen into a deep infatuation with the stuff, and I cannot say that I am ashamed. And cookies? Yes please.
I found this recipe while looking for more creative ways to use my buttermilk, (which I can happily say that I have bought another gallon of) and it looked so good that I just had to try it. The results were tasty, but only after a few screw ups. (oops) When I was baking, I originally put the cookies in the oven for 10 minutes, as per the instructions said, but the result was doughy, undercooked cookies. I then put them in for 15 minutes, and the result was burnt and I am pretty sure the US Olympic hockey team could have had a field day with them. After these failures, I put them into the oven for 13 minutes, and not a second longer, and out came the cookies I was yearning for. They had a slightly crunchy outside, while the inside was perfectly chewy and delicious. I knew I had finally reached success.

Recipe adapted by the amazing Ashley of Big Flavors from a Tiny Kitchen.

Printer Friendly Recipe Here
Double Chocolate Buttermilk Cookies:

Image

Prep time: 10 minutes
Bake Time: 10-13 minutes
Total Time: 23 minutes
Serves about 4 dozen.

Ingredients:
2 cups all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup butter (room temp)
3/4 cup cocoa powder
2 cups sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
2/3 cup buttermilk
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1. Preheat oven to 350° F. Line baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
2. Sift together flour, baking soda, and salt.
3. Cream butter and cocoa powder together until fluffy and smooth. Add vanilla, sugar and buttermilk, and whisk until combined.
4. Gradually add in the flour mixture, and whisk until no streak are left, occasionally stopping to scrape the sides of the bowl. Stir in chocolate chips.
5. Using a small ice cream scoop, scoop cookies onto prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie to enable space for spreading.
6. Bake 10-13 minutes, or until the cookies look set, and have cracked on the surface.
7. Let sit on baking sheet for about 2-3 minutes and then transfer to cooling rack to cool completely.

Big thanks to Ashley for her wonderful recipe!

Happy baking!
xoxox
-Alexia

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Buttermilk Cookies Recipe

Leave a Reply

