Chai Spiced Scones Recipe

Chai tea is probably one of my most favorite things in the entire world. I will drink it day, night, afternoon, anytime.
I went on a search for spiced scones, and all of the ones that found said that I had to steep a teabag and use it in the recipe, and I didn’t like the idea of that.. So I found a recipe for basic buttermilk scones, and went to work trying to achieve the wonderful chai flavor. Of course, the first batch weren’t very good. Not much flavor in them, and they were very dry. Batch number two were not much better, but they were less dry. When I finally rolled around to batch number three, I was very happy with how they came out. The flavor of cloves and cinnamon danced on my tongue, while the slight hint of vanilla was a perfect addition.
Chai Scones2
A little side note to this recipe, when I was measuring the amount of cloves for my recipe, I used a measuring spoon that my father got in Louisiana.. These measuring spoons were so small, because they use the measurements Dash, Pinch, and Smidgen. I had to go on a wild goose chase to figure out how much exactly that was. Because clove is such an overpowering flavor, you cant really use too much more than what is listed in the recipe.. Otherwise it will completely overpower all of the flavors in the scone. If you don’t have special measuring spoons like I have, I would use a very, very small pinch.   

Printer Friendly Recipe Here
Chai Spiced Scones:
Chai Scones1

Prep Time: 10 Minutes
Bake Time: 13 Minutes
Total Time: 23 Minutes
Serves about 20.

Ingredients:
3 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 dash (1/8 tsp.) clove
1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter (cubed)
1 cup buttermilk
1 1/2 tsp. Vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 400°. Cover a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.
2.Combine the flour, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, clove, and cinnamon in a large bowl.
3. Mix vanilla into buttermilk in a measuring cup or smaller bowl and set aside.
4. Using pastry blender or two knives, (or fingertips if you’re really good!) cut the butter into the dry ingredients until it resembles a coarse meal.
5. Add the buttermilk/vanilla mixture into the dry ingredients and butter mixture, and mix to incorporate. Try not to handle the dough too much. You don’t want the butter to melt.
6. Turn dough over onto a lightly floured surface, and cut in half. Roll out half of the dough to about 1/2-1 inch thick. Using a cookie cutter, (or glass cup, like I used) cut the dough into circles, and place on prepared baking sheet. (you can gather the remaining dough together and flatten that out to cut more out, but this should only be done once)
7. Bake at 400° for 13 minutes. Let stand on baking sheet for 2 minutes, then transfer to cooling rack.
Enjoy with coffee or tea. 

Happy baking!
xoxox
-Alexia

Leave a Reply

